The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto – Book Review

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto - Book ReviewI cannot explain it. I don’t want to.

You know how sometimes, from the very first sentence, a book simply seems magical. With every word your heart is purring like a contented cat. Somehow you, your heart and the story are in unison. That’s how I felt as I read this book.

I finished reading it in 24 hours. I didn’t rush. At times I stopped to savour the words and picture the scenes.

To me it’s a love story to Music – that’s Music with a capital ‘M’. Music is the main narrator and is as much a character in the story of Frankie Presto as the other cast of characters. Frankie has died suddenly. As musicians gather to pay their respects, they add their small bit to Frankie’s life by telling what they know to the gathered media. It’s not chronological and that makes you want to read on to find out who will fill the missing gaps in Frankie’s life.

The book had a surprise ending. I didn’t have a clue it was coming. It threw another emotion at me.

Have you ever picked up a book and your soul quietly tells you that you have to read this. And you buy it. They’re not necessarily classics or best sellers. The whole story touches you. The words do not soothe your soul. Your soul is OK. They soothe your mind. The words quieten your mind while your heart and soul hum happily in the background. These are the books you read over and over again.

I have four fiction and two non-fiction books that fall into this group. ‘The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto’ has now joined my special list. Thank you, Mitch Albom.

If you choose to read this story, please read the acknowledgments to the musicians who helped to make Frankie’s life seem so plausible. If you love music -whether you play, sing or not- I hope you enjoy it.

 

 

Stylish Baby Boomers EzineAre YOU a Baby Boomer Woman looking to Shine Confidently?

 (While I enjoy writing a personal Blog about life topics, including my love of reading, I also send out a regular Newsletter called  – ‘Stylish Baby Boomers’ every Thursday. Don’t miss out on receiving fashion and dressing advice for the modern business and professional Baby Boomer woman.

CLICK HERE or on my photo to sign up for the ‘Baby Boomer Personal Style’ Newsletter.)

Leave a Reply

